Defending Against DWI And DUI Charges
DWI and DUI charges can happen to people from all walks of life. For many people, this may be their first contact with the criminal justice system. Others may have a history of drunk driving charges. Whether this is your first or fifth offense, you need to seek help from an experienced defense lawyer who understands how to defend against these charges.
At The Law Office of Robert M. Maurer II, our attorney has been protecting the rights of people throughout South Texas for more than 25 years. The state of Texas takes drunk driving charges seriously, which is why you need someone who can provide you with an equally serious defense.
What Is The Difference Between A DWI And A DUI?
In Texas, driving under the influence (DUI) charges are reserved for people who are under 21 years of age. If the driver is under 21 and has any trace of alcohol in their system, even if they are below the legal driving limit of .08, they can be charged with a DUI. Driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges are for drivers 21 years of age or older whose blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is measured at .08 or higher. People who are suspected of driving under the influence of drugs, even legal prescription drugs, can also be charged with DWI.
The Consequences Of A Charge Are Almost Immediate
There is both a civil and criminal component to DWI charges. The civil component involves the suspension of your driver’s license. After you have been placed under arrest and a blood or breath sample has been taken, your driver’s license will be taken from you and you will be issued a temporary license. You have only 15 days from when the temporary license is issued to request a driver’s license suspension hearing. If you fail to request a hearing, your license will be automatically suspended. That is why it is important to seek legal help as soon as possible.
The criminal side of a DWI charge carries various potential consequences, depending on the circumstances surrounding the charge. A first offense is charged as a misdemeanor, and is punishable by up to six months in jail and a $2,000 fine. A third offense is considered a felony, and is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. There are also enhanced penalties for those whose BAC is measured at .15 or higher.
Defenses Are Available
The potential consequences of a drunk driving conviction can feel overwhelming. However, it is important to remember that you have rights and defenses are available. It’s possible that the BAC test was improperly administered or the sample was compromised. It’s possible that the police never had probable cause to make a traffic stop in the first place. We will thoroughly review the circumstances surrounding your arrest in order to build a strong defense that is designed to get your charges dismissed or reduced to a lesser charge.
Contact Us If You Have Been Charged With Drunk Driving
Do not take your chances fighting a DUI or DWI charge on your own. We can put our criminal defense experience to work for you. Call our law office in San Antonio at 210-538-2913 or contact us online.